Established in 1898, the Otago Settlers Museum stands as one of New Zealand’s most significant social history museums, founded to mark the 50th anniversary of the settling of Dunedin.
Located south of the Dunedin Railway Station it is an important part of the historic Queens Gardens precinct.
In 2008, work began on a $38m building redevelopment. The project includes the refurbishment of the heritage buildings, the construction of a new storage facility, additional exhibition spaces and visitor facilities.
During the redevelopment the museum is open with a very much reduced exhibition programme in the former NZR Bus Station entrance hall. The public programme of lectures, talks and performances continue as does the school education programme. The Archives are closed to the public and reopen when the redevelopment project is complete in late 2012.
For those wanting to see more of the inner city, there is the daily walking tour – a wonderful window into Dunedin’s architectural and social past. 10am-12noon, $20 p/p. Bookings are not required; simply check in at the Visitor Centre in the Octagon.
The Museum is open 10am to 5pm daily (Closed Christmas Day). Admission is free